Te Ture mō Te Reo Māori 2016
Māori Language Act 2016

  • Warning: Some amendments have not yet been incorporated
  • This version was replaced on 30 March 2017 to make corrections to Te Āpitihanga 2 under section 25(1)(c) and (m) of the Legislation Act 2012, and on 2 July 2020 to make a correction to section 8(2)(f) under section 25(1)(j)(ii) of the Legislation Act 2012.

Principles and guidelines

8 Principles


This section sets out the principles that are intended to guide—


the interpretation of this Act generally; and


in particular, the development of the Māori language strategies required by this Act.


The principles are as follows:

Māori language


the Māori language is the indigenous language of New Zealand:


the Māori language has inherent mana and is enduring:

Māori language and iwi and Māori


iwi and Māori are the kaitiaki of the Māori language:


the Māori language is the foundation of Māori culture and identity:


knowledge and use of the Māori language enhance the lives of iwi and Māori:


knowledge and use of the Māori language are sustained through transmission of the language from generation to generation among whānau and by daily communication in the community:

Māori language and the Crown


the Māori language is protected as a taonga by article 2 of the Treaty of Waitangi:


the Crown recognises the value of the Māori language for the people of New Zealand:


knowledge and use of the Māori language are promoted by an active partnership of the Crown with iwi and Māori through Te Mātāwai:


the Crown is able to advance the revitalisation of the Māori language by promoting strategic objectives in the wider New Zealand society:

Māori language and New Zealand society


the Māori language is an official language of New Zealand:


the Māori language is important to the identity of New Zealand.